Chargement en cours

An error has occurred. Please

Searchlight 2014: choosing your contest region

Editorial Staff

Searchlight is a national competition where musicians and musical acts enter through the city nearest them. Your region is decided by the participating CBC station nearest you within your island, province, or territory. Below, you'll find a list of all of the participating CBC bureaus, and additional information to help you select the regional contest closest to you.

A map of all participating locations is available here.

British Columbia:
Vancouver (On the Coast)
for artists in the Lower Mainland

Victoria (All Points West)
for artists on Vancouver Island

Kelowna (Radio West)
for artists in the B.C. interior and north/central coast

Calgary (Homestretch)
for Albertans in and south of Innisfail

Edmonton (Radio Active)
for Albertans in, and north of, Red Deer

Regina (Afternoon Edition)
for artists within Saskatchewan

Winnipeg (Up to Speed)
for artists within Manitoba

Toronto (Here & Now)
for artists in the Greater Toronto Area, including Barrie, Brampton, Caledon, Huntsville, Markham, Mississauga, Newmarket, Vaughn, Orangeville, Orillia, Oshawa, Peterborough

for artists in Southwestern Ontario, including Hamilton, Brantford, Burlington, Milton, Niagara Falls, Oakville, Port Colborne, St. Catharines, Welland

for artists in Kitchener, Waterloo, Cambridge, Guelph, Goderich, Hanover, London, Stratford, Walkerton, Woodstock

Ottawa (All in a Day)
for artists in Ottawa and the Ottawa Valley, including Brockville, Bancroft, Cornwall, Deep River, Kingston, Pembroke, Whitney, as well as Gatineau and Maniwaki, Que

Sudbury (Points North)
for artists in Northeastern Ontario including Sudbury, Attawapiskat, Britt, Chapleau, Elk Lake, Elliot Lake, Foleyet, Fort Albany, Hearst, Kapuskasing, Kirkland Lake, Little Current, Mattawa, Moosonee, North Bay, Parry Sound, Sault Ste. Marie, Temagami, Temiskaming Shores, Timmins, Wawa

Thunder Bay (Voyage North)
for artists in Northwestern Ontario including Thunder Bay, Armstrong, Atikokan, Beardmore, Big Trout Lake, Dryden, Ear Falls, Fort Frances, Fort Hope, Geraldton, Hornepayne, Hudson, Ignace, Kenora, Manitouwadge, Marathon, Mishkeegogamang, Nakina, Nipigon, Pickle Lake, Pikangikum, Red Lake, Sandy Lake, Savant Lake, Schreiber, Sioux Lookout, Sioux Narrows, Terrace Bay, White River

Windsor (The Bridge)
for artists in Southwestern Ontario, including Windsor, Essex County, Chatham-Kent, Leamington and Sarnia

Montreal (Homerun)
for artists in and around the Montreal region, including Cowansville, Laval, Saint-Jerome, Vaudreuil-Dorion

Quebec City (Breakaway)
for artists in the province of Quebec outside of the Montreal area, including Quebec City, Riviere-du-Loup, Saguenay, Sherbrooke, Trois-Rivieres and Northern Quebec.

New Brunswick:
Fredericton (Shift)
for artists within New Brunswick

Nova Scotia:
Cape Breton (Mainstreet C.B.)
for artists on Cape Breton Island

Halifax (Mainstreet Nova Scotia)
for artists on mainland Nova Scotia, from Yarmouth to Antigonish

Prince Edward Island:
Charlottetown (Mainstreet P.E.I)
for artists within P.E.I

Newfoundland and Labrador:
St. John's (On the Go)
for artists within Newfoundland and Labrador

Whitehorse (Airplay)
for artists within the Yukon

Iqaluit (Qulliq)
for artists within Nunavut

Northwest Territories:
Yellowknife (Trail's End)
for artists within the Northwest Territories

If you still need help finding your region, email with "Searchlight" in the subject line.