Chargement en cours

An error has occurred. Please

CBC’s Paolo Pietropaolo wins Prix Italia for Signature Series

Robert Rowat

This article was originally published on Sept. 26, 2013.

We're excited to share the news that Paolo Pietropaolo, host of In Concert on CBC Radio 2, has won a Prix Italia in the category of best work on music for The Signature Series, his personality profiles of the key signatures of music, co-produced by Denise Ball. Each episode captures the essence of a single key signature with beautifully articulated prose and an artfully mixed classical music accompaniment.

"This is such an enormous thrill," said Pietropaolo in response to the news. "I've always believed that classical music is most of all a visceral experience. It can make your heart pound. It can make your heart soar. It's not about formalities or a hushed concert hall; at its best, all music touches the essence of what makes us human. That's what this series is about, and it's wonderful to have confirmation that this kind of exploration of music is valued."

Mark Steinmetz, director of music at CBC, added, "As soon as Paolo's Signature Series went to air and was featured online, the response from the audience was overwhelming. This was obviously a hit. If you love music and have wondered what the key signatures of music mean, The Signature Series is essential listening. Each short segment is beautifully crafted audio that leaves you wanting more."

You can listen to The Signature Series here. Tune in to CBC Radio 2's In Concert Sundays from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. to hear the next episodes in this continuing series.

This is Pietropaolo's second Prix Italia. In 2005, he won the award for best work on music for The Wire, an eight-part series exploring the impact of electricity on music. That series was co-produced with Chris Brookes and Jowi Taylor.

Prix Italia is a prestigious and well established international competition honouring the best in radio, TV and web programs. More than 90 public and private broadcasters, representing five continents, take part. The prize has been awarded annually since its founding in Capri, Italy, in 1948.

The competition awards 14 prizes: six for radio, six for TV and two for web programming.