Chargement en cours

An error has occurred. Please

East Coast Music Awards 2016: complete list of winners

Holly Gordon

Hey Rosetta!, Jenn Grant and Amelia Curran were among the winners at this year’s East Coast Music Week, held in Sydney, N.S.

Hey Rosetta!, who led the nominations with seven for the band, took home album of the year, group recording of the year and rock recording of the year for its 2014 album, Second Sight, as well as song of the year for "Soft Offering (For the Oft Suffering)." (And if you're in Toronto on May 28, you can catch them at our festival.) Jenn Grant won solo recording of the year for Compostela, while Amelia Curran won for songwriter of the year. 

Hosted by Heather Rankin and Ashley MacIsaac, Thursday night's awards show included performances by Neon Dreams (with MacIsaac), Jenn Grant, Ben Caplan and more, plus a heartfelt tribute to Ron Hynes. 

Eleven of the awards were handed out at the gala, and the rest have since been announced. You can read the list of winners below.

2016 East Coast Music Award winners

Aboriginal artist of the year

City Natives, Voltron

Album of the year

Hey Rosetta!, Second Sight (producer: Marcus Paquin)

Songwriter of the year

Amelia Curran

Group recording of the year

Hey Rosetta!, Second Sight

Traditional instrumental recording of the year

Natalie MacMaster & Donnell Leahy, One

Solo recording of the year 

Jenn Grant, Compostela

Song of the year 

Hey Rosetta!, "Soft Offering (For the Oft Suffering)" (producer: Marcus Paquin)

Fans' choice entertainer of the year

Natalie MacMaster and Donnell Leahy

Fans' choice video of the year 

Everglow, "Feel Your Heart" (director: Devin Sooley)

Enregistrement francophone de l'année

Joey Robin Haché, Repaver l'âme

Pop recording of the year (tie) 

Coyote, Proof of Life 
Christina Martin, It'll Be Alright

Rock recording of the year

Hey Rosetta!, Second Sight

Rising star recording of the year

Fortunate Ones, The Bliss

Country recording of the year:

Whitney Rose, Heartbreaker of the Year

Rap/hip-hop recording of the year

Quake Matthews, Rap Music

Classical composition of the year

Dinuk Wijeratne, Two Pop Songs on Antique Poems

Classical recording of the year

Symphony Nova Scotia, The How and Why of Memory

Loud recording of the year

Dumpster Mummy, Trenchfoot

Blues recording of the year

John Campbelljohn, Chin Up

Bucky Adams Memorial Award

Chelsea Amber, Introducing Chelsea Amber

Dance recording of the year

Pineo and Loeb, Soul Clap

Electronic recording of the year

Ryan Hemsworth, Alone for the First Time

Gospel recording of the year

Informants, Ezekiel

Jazz recording of the year

Jerry Granelli, What I Hear Now

Roots/traditional group recording of the year

Vishten, Terre Rouge

Company of the year

Event of the year

Celtic Colours International Festival
Graphic/media artist of the year

Deep Hollow Print
Live sound engineer of the year

Kyle McDonald
Management/manager of the year

Sonic Entertainment Group
Media outlet of the year

The Coast: Halifax's Weekly
Media person of the year

Ryan McNutt
Producer of the year

Joel Plaskett
Studio engineer of the year

Mike "Sheppy" Shepherd
Studio of the year

Lakewind Sound Studios
Venue of the year

The Mack (Confederation Centre)
Video of the Year

Mo Kenney, "Telephones" (director: Nathan Boey)
Stompin' Tom Awards

Gordon Stobbe, Hal Mills, Shirley Montague, Mark Gaudet, Emilio Pace
Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award

Jack O'Donnell
Musician's Achievement Award

Ed Woodsworth
Industry Builder Award

Fred Lavery