Chargement en cours

An error has occurred. Please

Leonard Cohen announces new album You Want It Darker

Del Cowie

Leonard Cohen is set to release a new album later this fall. Entitled You Want It Darker, the album will be the follow up to Cohen's 2014 release Popular Problems.

The album, Cohen's 14th studio release, was announced on Cohen's official Facebook page and by Sony Music Québec.


"At the age of 82 Leonard Cohen is releasing an album of haunting new songs, which the lucky few who have heard it, deem 'a masterpiece' and 'classic Cohen,'" read a statement  on Cohen's official Facebook page. 

The legendary Canadian songwriter's new album is produced by his son Adam Cohen, according to Rolling Stone. No release date for You Want It Darker has been announced yet.

An excerpt of a song from the album was featured on U.K. drama show Peaky Blinders and can be listened to here.

Cohen was recently in the news when Marianne Ihlen, his muse for many years, died last month. Cohen paid tribute to Ihlen who was the inspiration behind his song, "So Long, Marianne" on his website and in a letter he wrote to her in the days leading up to her death.

The tracklisting for You Want It Darker is listed below:

1. “You Want It Darker”
2. “Treaty”
3. “On the Level”
4. “Leaving the Table”
5. “If I Didn’t Have Your Love”
6. “Traveling Light”
7. “It Seemed the Better Way”
8. “Steer Your Way”
9. “String Reprise/ Treaty”