Chargement en cours

An error has occurred. Please

Ria Mae, Classified, Like a Motorcycle among winners at 2017 East Coast Music Awards

Holly Gordon

Ria Mae, Classified, War Horses and Old Man Luedecke were among Thursday night's winners at the East Coast Music Awards gala, held at Harbour Station in Saint John, N.B. on April 27.

Acadian group Les hôtesses d’Hilaire took home two awards, the most of the night — beating Repartee, Paper Lions, Hillsburn and the Town Heroes for group recording of the year, and winning for Francophone recording of the year — while Ria Mae won for solo recording of the year, Classified for song of the year, Old Man Luedecke for album of the year and War Horses took home Indigenous artist of the year.

Hosted by comedian James Mullinger, the show included performances by Repartee, Lisa LeBlanc, Like a Motorcycle, winners Classified and Ria Mae, and more.

Twelve of the awards were handed out that evening, and the rest have been announced. Read the up-to-date winners list below, and hit play on the playlist to hear (almost) all the winners.

2017 East Coast Music Award winners

Album of the year

Old Man Luedecke, Domestic Eccentric (producer: Tim O’Brien)

Bucky Adams Memorial Award

Ced Marty & Dave

Country recording of the year

Tristan Horncastle, Turnin’ Up a Sundown

Francophone recording of the year

Les hôtesses d’Hilaire, Touche-moi pas là!

Fans’ choice entertainer of the year

Lennie Gallant

Fans’ choice video of the year

Hillsburn, "Run Down" (director: Mat Barkley, Badfunmedia)

Group recording of the year

Les hôtesses d’Hilaire, Touche-moi pas là!

Indigenous artist of the year

War Horses

Rising Star recording of the year

Like a Motorcycle, High Hopes

Rock recording of the year

The Motorleague, Holding Patterns

Solo recording of the year

Ria Mae, Ria Mae

Song of the year

Classified, "No Pressure" (producer: Classified)

Blues recording of the year

Beauwater, Lovers, Fools and Kings

Pop recording of the year

Ria Mae, Ria Mae

Rap/hip-hop recording of the year

Classified, Greatful

Roots/traditional recording of the year

Ten Strings And A Goat Skin, Auprès du poêle

Traditional instrumental recording of the year

Scott Macmillan & Colin Grant, GOOD2GO

Classical composition of the year

Scott Macmillan, "Currents of Sable Island"

Classical recording of the year

Duo Concertante, J.S. Bach Six Sonatas for Violin and Keyboard

Folk recording of the year

Lennie Gallant, Searching For Abegweit

Jazz recording of the year

Joel Miller, Dream Cassette

Loud recording of the year

Lionsault, Are You Feeling Lucky?

Electronic recording of the year

Rozalind MacPhail, From the River to the Ocean

R&B/soul recording of the year

Erin Costelo, Down Below, the Status Quo

Dance recording of the year

Pineo & Loeb, Soul Shakin'

Company of the year


Event of the year

Celtic Colours International Festival

Graphic/media artist of the year

Deep Hollow Print

Live sound engineer of the year

Stephen “Snickers” Smith

Management/manager of the year

Jones & Company

Media outlet of the year

Halifax Is Burning

Media person of the year

Adria Young

Producer of the year

Daniel Ledwell

Studio engineer of the year

Darren van Niekerk

Studio of the year

The Sonic Temple

Venue of the year

Plan b Lounge

Video of the year

Classified, "Work Away" feat. David Myles (director: Jason Levangie)

Stompin’ Tom Awards

Merlin Waye (CB)
Jim Bradley (NB)
James Faraday (NS)
Jim Payne (NL)
Garnet Buell (PE)

Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award

Carole Chouinard

Musician's Achievement Award

Danny Bourgeois

Industry Builder Award

Accros de la chanson

More to explore:

Acadian rockers, favourite folkies rule East Coast Music Awards

First Play Live: Ria Mae

Halifax's Ria Mae on risking it all to get her major label debut

First Play Live: Classified, Greatful