Chargement en cours

An error has occurred. Please

Canadians advance at Cliburn Competition

Robert Rowat

The two Canadian contestants at the 15th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition in Fort Worth, Texas, have advanced to the quarter-final round.

Vancouver's Tristan Teo, 20, and Toronto's Tony Yike Yang, who at 18 is the youngest competitor, are among the 20 pianists selected from the preliminary field of 30 to perform a 45-minute quarter-final recital at Fort Worth's Bass Performance Hall.

Quarter-final recitals take place May 29 and 30 and are webcast live on the competition's website.

Teo plays his recital on May 29 at 3:20 p.m. local time (4:20 p.m. ET). He'll play Bach's Toccata in D Minor, Ravel's Gaspard de la nuit and Kapustin's Variations, Op. 41.

Yang's recital will be at 3:20 p.m. local time (4:20 p.m. ET) on May 30. He'll fill his 45 minutes with only two works: Scriabin's Sonata No. 2 and Liszt's B Minor Sonata.

Consult the full schedule of quarter-final performances here.

Of special interest for Canadians fans is the competition's imposed work, which each contestant played in the preliminary round: Toccata on 'L'homme armé' by Marc-André Hamelin, who also sits on the jury.

Following the quarter-final round, 12 pianists will advance to the semifinals. They will each play a 60-minute solo recital as well as a Mozart concerto with the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra under Nicholas McGegan. The six pianists to reach the competition's final round will each perform a piano quintet with the Brentano String Quartet and a Romantic concerto with the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra under Leonard Slatkin.

First prize includes $50,000 cash and a live recording with Universal Music Group.

The jury for the 15th Cliburn Competition comprises Arnaldo Cohen (Brazil), Chriostopher Elton (U.K.), Hamelin (Canada), Joseph Kalichstein (Israel), Mari Kodama (Japan), Anne-Marie McDermott (U.S.A.), Erik T. Tawaststjerna (Finland), Alexander Toradze (Georgia) and jury chair Slatkin (U.S.A.)

The Cliburn Competition takes place every four years. Past winners include Radu Lupu (1966), Cristina Ortiz (1969) and André-Michel Schub (1981).

Explore more:

Listen to CBC Music's 24/7 Piano Stream

Charles Richard-Hamelin: 5 pieces that changed my life

Angela Hewitt: 'It's time to do what I want'