Chargement en cours

An error has occurred. Please

Here is the 2017 Polaris Music Prize long list

Holly Gordon

The 2017 Polaris Prize short list will be announced Thursday, July 13, at 11 a.m. ET. Tune in to CBC Radio 2's Drive with host Rich Terfry at 6 p.m. for a special hour-long broadcast celebrating the nominees. Find your local CBC Radio 2 frequency at, and visit for more coverage.

Since 2006, the Polaris Music Prize has provided a platform to showcase some of the best Canadian albums released each year based solely on artistic merit, without consideration for record sales or musical genre.

Today at the NAC in Ottawa, 40 albums were nominated to the 2017 long list. Get the full list below.

The 10-album short list will be announced live via CBC Music's Facebook page on July 13 at 11 a.m. ET, while the winner will be announced at the Polaris Prize gala on Sept. 18 — to be live-streamed right here on CBC Music. Catch our Polaris Prize coverage at

2017 Polaris Prize long list

A Tribe Called Red, We Are the Halluci Nation
Alaclair Ensemble, Les Frères Cueilleurs
Anciients, Voice of the Void
Arkells, Morning Report
Philippe B, La grande nuit vidéo
BadBadNotGood, IV
Louise Burns, Young Mopes
Chocolat, Rencontrer Looloo
Clairmont the Second, Quest For Milk and Honey
Leonard Cohen, You Want it Darker
Antoine Corriveau, Cette chose qui cognait au creux de sa poitrine sans vouloir s'arrêter
Le Couleur, P.O.P.
Marie Davidson, Adieux Au Dancefloor
Mac Demarco, This Old Dog
Gord Downie, Secret Path
Drake, More Life
Feist, Pleasure
Figure Walking, The Big Other
Fiver, Audible Songs From Rockwood
Geoffroy, Coastline
Hannah Georgas, For Evelyn
Japandroids, Near to the Wild Heart of Life
Carly Rae Jepsen, E.MO.TION Side B
B.A. Johnston, Gremlins III
Lisa LeBlanc, Why You Wanna Leave, Runaway Queen?
The New Pornographers, Whiteout Conditions
Klô Pelgag, L'Étoile thoracique
Peter Peter, Noir Éden
Lido Pimienta, La Papessa
Jessie Reyez, Kiddo
Daniel Romano, Modern Pressure
The Sadies, Northern Passages
John K. Samson, Winter Wheat
Tanya Tagaq, Retribution
The Tragically Hip, Man Machine Poem
Leif Vollebekk, Twin Solitude
Weaves, Weaves
The Weeknd, Starboy
Charlotte Day Wilson, CDW

Related: Polaris 2017: Revisit q interviews with this year's long list nominees

Kaytranada won last year's Polaris Music Prize for his debut album, 99.9%, and past winners include Tanya Tagaq, Feist, Patrick Watson, Owen Pallett, Arcade Fire and Buffy Sainte-Marie. This year, the winning album will receive $50,000.

More to explore:

A Tribe Called Red has never been louder

Max Kerman on checking privilege, Arkells' more 'populist' sound on Morning Report

BadBadNotGood's collaborative ways all add up to IV

5 things you need to know about Clairmont the Second, the next big hip-hop hope

Leonard Cohen's You Want it Darker is enlightened, inspired and poignant

Watch it now: Gord Downie's Secret Path