Chargement en cours

An error has occurred. Please

Punk band Pup wins 2017 SOCAN Songwriting Prize

Editorial Staff

It was announced today that punk band Pup has won this year's Engligh SOCAN Songwriting Prize for its song "DVP." The prize includes a $10,000 cash award.

The SOCAN Songwriting Prize celebrates emerging Canadian songwriters by asking a panel of industry experts to select the 10 most outstanding songs written over the past year. Music fans are then invited to vote for their favourite to determine the winner.

"DVP" was written by Pup band members Stefan Babcock, Nestor Chumak, Zachary Mykula and Steve Sladkowski.

"We are extremely grateful to have been considered for this songwriting award," said singer-guitarist Babcock in a statement. "We have tremendous respect for the other nine artists who were shortlisted — they've all spent countless hours and sleepless nights cutting their teeth and fretting over each and every tiny detail of their songs, and we are proud to be in their company."

Past winners of the SOCAN Songwriting Prize include Fast Romantics, Alejandra Ribera and Kathleen Edwards. Find the full list of this year's nominees here.

Watch the video for "DVP" below.

More to explore:

Snubs? Surprises? Polaris jurors debate the 2017 short list

Watch Polaris jurors predict the 2017 short list

Here are all the 2017 CCMA Award nominees