Chargement en cours

An error has occurred. Please

2017 CCMA Awards: full list of winners

Caroline Szwed

Find out all the best moments from the 2017 CCMA Awards right here.

Experience the best in new Canadian Country Music. The nominees for the Canadian Country Music Association awards back-to-back and head-to-head. Hear: Dean Brody, Gord Bamford, High Valley and more!

The 2017 Canadian Music Association Awards are this weekend, and in the midst of all the action, the winners have been announced.

Find out who won awards for roots artist of the year, songwriter(s) of the year, interactive artist or group of the year — and all the other awards — in the following list.

Winners are mentioned or bolded below.

Hall of Fame artist inductee:

Paul Brandt

CCMA Discovery Award:

Kalsey Kulyk

Apple Music Fans' Choice Award:

Gord Bamford
Dean Brody
Chad Brownlee
High Valley
Dallas Smith

Roots artist of the year:

The Lovelocks
Jessica Mitchell
Lindi Ortega
JJ Shiplett
The Washboard Union

Female artist of the year:

Lindsay Ell
Madeline Merlo
Jess Moskaluke
Meghan Patrick

Male artist of the year:

Gord Bamford
Chad Brownlee
Tim Hicks
Brett Kissel
Aaron Pritchett
Dallas Smith

Group or duo of the year:

Cold Creek County
High Valley
James Baker Band
The Road Hammers
The Washboard Union

Sirius XM Rising Star:

Dan Davidson
Aaron Goodvin
James Barker Band
JoJo Mason
Meghan Patrick

Single of the year:

"Autograph," Dallas Smith
"Cool With That," Brett Kissel
"Lawn Chair Lazy," James Barker Band
"Take Me Home," Jess Moskaluke
"Time," Dean Brody

Video of the year:

"Chills," James Barker Band
"I Didn't Fall in Love With Your Hair," Brett Kissel
"That's When You Know," Chris Buck Band feat. Kira Isabella
"Time," Dean Brody
"When a Momma's Boy Meets a Daddy's Girl," Aaron Pritchett

Songwriter(s) of the year:

James Barker, Gavin Slate, Travis Wood, Donovan Woods: "Chills" (performed by James Barker Band)
Ted Hewitt, Brett Kissel, Phil O'Donnell: "Cool With That" (performed by Brett Kissel)
Clayton Bellamy, Dan Davidson: "Found" (performed by Dan Davidson)
Dean Brody: "Time" (performed by Dean Brody)
Patricia Conroy, Jessica Mitchell, David Thomson: "Workin' on Whiskey" (performed by Jessica Mitchell)

Interactive artist or group of the year:

Shae Dupuy
Tim Hicks
Hunter Brothers
Brett Kissel
Wes Mack

Guitar player of the year:

Derek Caven
Ryan Davidson
Matt McKay
Darren Savard
Brennan Wall

Keyboard player of the year:

Scott Galloway
Mike Little
Bart McKay
Carly McKillip

Special instrument player of the year:

Denis Dufresne (banjo)
Shane Guse (mandolin)
Tyler Vollrath (mandolin)

Bass player of the year:

Chris Byrne
Lisa Dodd
Justin Kudding
James Murdoch
Travis Switzer

Drummer of the year:

Jimmy Boudreau
Ben Bradley
Jayson Brinkworth
Rich DaSilva
Chad Melchert

Fiddle player of the year:

Denis Dufresne
Shane Guse
Julie Kennedy
Mike Sanyshyn
Tyler Vollrath

Steel guitar player of the year:

John Ellis
Smokey Fennell
Mitch Jay
Doug Johnson
Scott Smith

Music publshing company of the year:

Royalty Music Publishing Inc.
Sony/ATV Music Publishing Canada
Universal Music Publishing Canada
Warner/Chappell Music Canada

Record company of the year:

MDM Recordings Inc.
ole red dot
Open Road Recordings Inc.
Sony Music Entertainment (Canada) Inc.
Warner Music Canada

Record company person of the year:

Steve Coady, Warner Music Canada
Warren Copnick, Sony Music Entertainment (Canada) Inc.
Mike Denney, MDM Recordings Inc.
Ron Kitchener, Open Road Recordings, Inc.
Louis O'Reilly, Big Star Recordings Inc.

Music director of the year (large market):

Larry Donohue, CFCW, Edmonton
Steph Hansen, CKRY-FM/CISN-FM, Calgary/Edmonton
Amanda Kingsland, CKBY-FM, Ottawa
Brittany Thompson, CKKL-FM, Ottawa
Peter Walker, CJKX-FM, Oshawa, Ont.

Music director of the year (medium/small market):

Shilo Bellis, CJXL-FM, Moncton
Paul Ferguson, CHCQ-FM, Belleville, Ont.
Cal Gratton, CJVR-FM, Melfort, Sask.
Roo Phelps, CIGV-FM, Kelowna, B.C.
Brendan Seeley, CKGY-FM, Red Deer, Alta.

Booking agency of the year:

The Feldman Agency
Invictus Entertainment Group
Paquin Artists Agency
Sakamoto Agency
United Talent Agency

Country club of the year:

Boots & Bourbon Saloon, Toronto
Cook County Saloon, Edmonton
Cowboys Dance Hall, Calgary
Knoxville's Tavern, Edmonton
Ranchman's Cookhouse and Dancehall, Calgary

Country festival, fair or exhibition of the year:

Boots and Hearts Music Festival, Oro-Medonte, Ont.
Big Valley Jamboree, Camrose, Alta.
Calgary Stampede, Calgary
Cavendish Beach Music Festival, Cavendish, P.E.I.
Rockin' River Country MusicFest, Merritt, B.C.

Country music program or special of the year:

Brett Kissel, Home Movie (Corus Entertainment)
Canadian Coast to Coast (Fabmar Communications)
Chevy Top 20 Countdown (Corus Entertainment)
Coors Banquet One Horse Town (Corus Entertainment)
The Casey Clarke Show with Roo Phelps (Casey Clarke Productions)

Management company of the year:

Chief Music Management
Gold & GOld Productions Ltd.
Invictus Entertainment Group
MDM Recordings Inc.
RGK Entertainment Group Inc.

Recording package of the year:

Dean Brody, Beautiful Freakshow (design team: Mitchell Nevins; photography: Phil Crozier)
Doc Walker, Echo Road: The Best of Doc Walker (design team: Mitchell Nevins)
Tim Hicks, Shake These Walls (design team: Mitchell Nevins; photography: Phil Crozier)
JJ Shiplett, Something to Believe In (design team: Janelle Shiplett; photography: Brent Mykytyshyn, Ari Heinikainen, Mike Peleshok
Madeline Merlo, War Paint (design team: Mitchell Nevins, Madeline Merlo)

Recording studio of the year:

Bark McKay Productions, Saskatoon, Sask.
Barrytone Studios, St. Clements, Ont.
MCC Recording Studio, Calgary
OCL Studios, Chestermire, Alta.
Revolution Recording, Toronto

Record producer(s) of the year:

Chris Baseford, Vince GIll, Jeff Johnson, Chad Kroeger, Carly McKillip, Justin Niebank (Grace & Grit, Meghan Patrick)
Scott Cooke (The Score, Aaron Pritchett)
Scott Cooke, Ben Glover, Mitch Merrett (Hearts on Fire, Chad Brownlee)
Joey Moi (Side Effects, Dallas Smith)
Phil O'Donnell (Tin Roof, Gord Bamford)

Retailer of the year:

Apple Canada
Spotify Canada Inc.
Sunrise Records
Walmart Canada

Video director of the year:

Stephano Barberis (videos: "I Hate You For It," Chad Brownlee; "One Little Kiss," Dallas Smith; "Red Dress," JoJo Mason; "Somethin' we Shouldn't Do," Chad Brownlee; "Summer Girl," Bucko & Toad; "Time," Dean Brody)
Emma Higgins (video: "Still Loving You," Meghan Patrick)
Ben Knechtel (videos: "Chills," James Barker Band; "Cool With That," Brett Kissel; "Drive Me Away," Jess Moskaluke; "Elevator," Jess Moskaluke; "Every Week's Got a Friday," High Valley; "Starts With a Girl," David James)
Travis Nesbitt (video: "Found," Dan Davidson)
Joel Stewart (video: "I Didn't Fall in Love With Your Hair," Brett Kissel

Ron Sakamoto talent buyer or promoter of the year:

Kelly Berehulka, Casinos of Winnipeg
Paul Biro, Sakamoto Agency
Jim Cressman, Invictus Entertainment Group
Adam Oppenheim, Stampede Entertainment Inc.
Emmanuel Patterson, Live Nation Entertainment

Top-selling Canadian album of the year:

Side Effects, Dallas Smith

Top-selling Canadian single of the year:

Bush Party, Dean Brody

More to explore:

2017 CCMA Awards: all the best moments

New stream: listen to the best in Canadian country music