Chargement en cours

An error has occurred. Please

Nina Simone, Bon Jovi and more will be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame next year

Melody Lau

The 2018 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees have been announced and Nina Simone, Bon Jovi, Dire Straits, the Moody Blues and the Cars will be honoured in a ceremony at Cleveland's Public Hall on April 14, 2018. Sister Rosetta Tharpe will also be honoured with the Early Influence Award.

Bon Jovi took to Twitter to express his appreciation, posting a video where he said, "Thanks for inducting us into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame — long time coming, but it's finally here!"

Among the long list of nominees this year were Depeche Mode, Kate Bush, Judas Priest, LL Cool J, Link Wray, Rage Against the Machine and Chaka Khan. British band Radiohead was also nominated, in its first year of eligibility, but the band was not particularly enthused by the nomination, with member Jonny Greenwood telling the press, "I don't care."

While some of the inductees haven't performed in years, most of them are expected to at the April event. (Bon Jovi drummer Tico Torres told Rolling Stone that he hopes members Richie Sambora and Alec John Such will consider reuniting for the occasion.) Special guests will likely be invited to honour Nina Simone, who died in 2003, and Sister Rosetta Tharpe, who died in 1973.

Read more:

Sister Rosetta Tharpe, Ben Harper, J. Moss and more: our favourite gospel songs

From Cardi B to Nina Simone: 5 artists who changed Ibeyi's lives