Chargement en cours

An error has occurred. Please

Yamantaka // Sonic Titan, Preoccupations, Zaki Ibrahim: Radio 3's top 30 songs for the week of February 12, 2018

Editorial Staff

Art-rock collective Yamantaka // Sonic Titan is back with its first new album in five years, and the album's epic lead single "Someplace" debuts on our chart this week at #26. The band described the album via press release as, "the soundtrack for an unreleased Haudenosaunee- and Buddhist-themed Anime." Dirt wil be released on March 23 via Paper Bag.

Preoccupations also announced a new album due out in the spring, called New Material. The post-punk band, originally known as Viet Cong, has the highest debut this week at #21 with the single "Espionage."

Other debuts this week include "Please" from Breeze, and "When You're Ready" from Tuns.

Zaki Ibrahim only released her latest album, The Secret Life of Planets, a couple of weeks ago, and already the song "Cold Feet" has climbed all the way to #1. Combining elements of disco, funk, eletronic and pop into what she calls "sci-fi soul," Ibrahim has created a sound that's all her own on this album, and it's a worthy follow up to Every Opposite, her excellent 2012 debut.

Here is the full rundown of the top 30 songs on our chart:

30. Sleepless Nights, “You’ll Find Love”
29. Barr Brothers, “Maybe Someday”
28. Breeze, “Please”
27. Digits, “The Day You Fight Back”
26. Yamantaka // Sonic Titan, “Someplace”
25. Suuns, “Watch Me, Watch You”
24. Tuns, “When You’re Ready”
23. U.S. Girls, “Velvet For Sale”
22. Rhye, “Taste”
21. Preoccupations, “Espionage” *highest debut*
20. Corridor, “Deux Coeurs (ft. Halo Maud)”
19. Praises, “Calm As Colour”
18. Born Ruffians, “Miss You”
17. Energy Slime, “It’s Cold”
16. Peach Pit, “Drop The Guillotine”
15. Nicholas Krgovich, “The World Tonight”
14. Caveboy, “New Touch”
13. Wordburglar, “If It Rhymes It’s Real”
12. Daniel Romano, “Nerveless”
11. Mnisota, “Sound That Nothing Made”
10. Pony, “I Don’t Know”
9. Michael Rault, “Sleep With Me”
8. Austra, “Change The Paradigm”
7. Dizzy, “Swim”
6. Wolf Parade, “Artificial Life”
5. Sean Nicholas Savage, “Opposing Truth”
4. Girlfriend Material, “Peace Sign”
3. Groenland, “Propaganda”
2. Darlene Shrugg, “Strawberry Milk”
1. Zaki Ibrahim, “Cold Feet”