Chargement en cours

An error has occurred. Please

Searchlight 2018: the national top 100 announced

Grant Lawrence

For Searchlight 2018, the first cut is the deepest.

After an exciting initial voting round where hundreds of thousands of your votes were cast for original Canadian songs from every province and territory, we have now whittled our list down from more than 2,000 artists to our national top 100. Congratulations to all the artists who made the top 100, and thank you to the thousands of others who participated this year in Searchlight 2018, CBC Music's hunt for Canada's best undiscovered musical talent.

Here's how the national top 100 was decided: half of the list was decided by votes, meaning that the 50 artists with the highest number of votes have automatically made it through. Check them out in alphabetical order below. The other half of the list made it through by internal judging from a team of CBC Music producers. You can check out that list below as well.

Now it's up to you to help us decide who makes it into the top 10 finalists, which will be announced on Thursday March 8. Again, half the list will be determined by votes and the other half from our CBC Music staff judges. Once the top 10 is announced, our panel of celebrity judges will take over to determine a winner of Searchlight 2018, which will be announced live on q on CBC Radio One on Monday, March 19, at 11 a.m. local time (11:30 a.m. in Newfoundland) to kick off Juno Week in Vancouver.

Vote here to help us choose the national top 10.

Good luck and congratulations to all Searchlight 2018 top 100 national contenders!

Top 50 finalists as decided by vote

Aaron Grant, New Brunswick
Adam Winn, B.C. Interior
Alexa Goldie, Toronto
Amanda Jackson, Prince Edward Island
Anthems In Ashes, Toronto
Brooklyn Blackmore, Nova Scotia
Caroline Colantonio, Toronto
CC Trubiak, Manitoba
Chloe Hataley, Ottawa
Clare Maguire, Nova Scotia
Clay Breiland, Northern Ontario
Dan Verner, New Brunswick
Dawson Rutledge, B.C. Interior
Dearhearts, Calgary
Disraeli Dreamers, Manitoba
Eunice Keitan, Toronto
Gabrielle McAndless, Central Ontario
Gareth Inkster, Hamilton
Ian Alistair Gosbee, Nova Scotia
James Blonde, Hamilton
James King & The Midnight Hours, Toronto
Jenn and Mark, Manitoba
Jordana Talsky, Toronto
Just Micci, Nova Scotia
Killjoy, Saskatchewan
Kristen Mark Westwood, Saskatchewan
Kwerks, Vancouver
Layla Kelly & Jesse Potter, Nova Scotia
LoFi Mind, Kitchener
Lorena Morcone, Hamilton
Magnetic North, Nova Scotia
Max Parker, Toronto
Megan Nadin, Northern Ontario
Mireille Perez, Vancouver
Paragon Cause, Ottawa
Racket, B.C. Interior
Raincity Blue, Vancouver
Royal Foundry, Edmonton
Rumour Mill, Vancouver
Scarlet Sway, B.C. Interior
Shaedan Hawse, Montreal
Sleepy Gonzales, Vancouver
Subtle Curves, Ottawa
Susan O'Quinn, Toronto
Symbiosis, Toronto
Teigan McKnight, Toronto
Thorn and Roses, Kitchener- Waterloo
Trundled, Calgary
Tyler Lorette, Toronto
Velle & Kootenay Soul, B.C. Interior

Top 50 finalists as judged by CBC Music

Ainsley Eliza, Edmonton
Amir Brandon, Central Ontario
August Brodie, Northern Ontario
aquakultre, Nova Scotia
Blood Maachine, Vancouver
Bryce Thomas, Hamilton
CamilaHW, Quebec
Carolina East, Newfoundland
Commotions, Ottawa
Dana Lee, Manitoba
Danny Drouin, P.E.I.
Danny Lamb and the Association, Toronto
Dayda Banks, Saskatchewan
David Fisher, Vancouver
DJ KZK, Edmonton
Emily Rockarts, Toronto
Fallbrigade, Vancouver Island
FM Berlin, New Brunswick
Global Party Starters, Vancouver
Goodbye Honolulu, Toronto
Harrison Caldeira, Toronto
Jessie Leith Munro, Toronto
Joey O'Neil, Yukon
Julian Bachlow, Toronto
Karis, Toronto
Kelsey Vaz, Toronto
Maverick Cinema, Vancouver Island
Moscow Apartment, Toronto
Mountain Eyes, Ottawa
Mountain of Wolves, London
Naseha, Toronto
Odder than the Otters, Manitoba
Palm Baker, Toronto
Quote The Raven, Newfoundland
Rob Butterfield, Vancouver Island
Rebecca Lappa, Edmonton
Sara Diamond, Montreal
Sinzere, Calgary
Skylar Bouchard, Manitoba
Small Town Artillery, Interior B.C.
So Loki, Vancouver
Super Duty Tough Work, Winnipeg
Syzzors, Montreal
Tyler Del Pino, Manitoba
Trade-Offs, Nunavut|
Veronica Winter, Quebec
Viviane Jean, Toronto
Whelming, Vancouver
wild/kind, Vancouver
YYZ, Toronto

Vote now!

More to explore:

Searchlight 2018: the prizes

Searchlight 2018: key dates

Searchlight 2018: FAQs

Searchlight 2018: rules and regulations

Past Searchlight participants nominated for 2018 Juno awards

CBC Music’s annual hunt for Canada’s next undiscovered talent is back for 2018.