Chargement en cours

An error has occurred. Please

2018 East Coast Music Awards: the complete list of winners

Holly Gordon

The 30th annual East Coast Music Awards wrapped up last night, with Mo Kenney, Measha Brueggergosman and producer Daniel Ledwell all taking home awards, among many others.

The first set of awards were given out on Thursday, May 3, with a big anniversary show, hosted by Jonathan Torrens and including performances by Neon Dreams, Joel Plaskett Emergency, Classified and Sloan, among others.

That night, Rose Cousins won for album and song of the year, Jenn Grant took home pop recording of the year, Kinley (formerly of Hey Rosetta!) won fans’ choice video of the year for “Microphone” as well as rising star recording of the year, City Natives won for Indigenous artist of the year and les Païens won for group recording of the year.

Read on for the full list of winners from both award ceremonies, and watch q Live at the East Coast Music Awards, recorded from Halifax yesterday before the second half of the awards were given out.

Album of the year

Rose Cousins, Natural Conclusion (producer: Joe Henry)

Bucky Adams Memorial Award

Measha Brueggergosman

Directors’ Special Achievement Award


Fans’ choice entertainer of the year

Matt Minglewood

Fans’ choice video of the year

Kinley, “Microphone” (director: Jenna MacMillan)

Francophone recording of the year

Jacques Jacobus, Le retour de Jacobus

Group recording of the year

Les Païens, Carte noire

Indigenous artist of the year

City Natives

Pop recording of the year

Jenn Grant, Paradise

Rap/hip-hop recording of the year

Quake Matthews, Celebrate the Struggle

Rising star recording of the year

Kinley, Letters Never Sent

Song of the year

Rose Cousins, "Grace" (producer: Joe Henry)

Songwriter of the year

Joel Plaskett

Blues recording of the year

Tie! Mike Biggar, Go All In; Matt Minglewood, Fly Like Desperados

Country recording of the year

Makayla Lynn, On a Dare and a Prayer

Dance recording of the year

CRaymak, "Play With Fire" feat. Neon Dreams

Electronic recording of the year

Pineo & Loeb, Lifeblood

Folk recording of the year

Rose Cousins, Natural Conclusion

Gospel recording of the year

Measha Brueggergosman, Songs of Freedom

Instrumental recording of the year

Rosie MacKenzie, Atlantic

Jazz recording of the year

Paul Tynan and Aaron Lington, Bicoastal Collective: Chapter 5

Loud recording of the year

ZAUM, Eidolon

Rock recording of the year

Jessie Brown, Keeping Appearances

Roots/traditional recording of the year

Còig, Rove

Solo recording of the year

Mo Kenney, The Details

Classical composition of the year

Andrew Staniland, The River Within Us

Classical recording of the year

Duo Concertante, Incarnation

Industry awards:

Company of the year


Event of the year

Lunenburg Folk Harbour Festival

Graphic/media artist of the year

Jud Haynes

Live sound engineer of the year

Stephen "Snickers" Smith

Management/manager of the year

Sonic Entertainment Group

Media outlet of the year

Halifax is Burning

Media person of the year

Hillary Windsor

Producer of the year

Daniel Ledwell

Studio engineer of the year

Jamie Foulds

Studio of the year

New Scotland Yard

Venue of the year

The Carleton Music Bar & Grill

Video of the year

Kevin Davison, "When Those Sirens are Gone"

ECMA Aficionados

Dalhousie’s Fountain School of Performing Arts
Fred and Elizabeth Fountain
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
O’Regan’s Lexus
Stewart McKelvey
Rob Sobey

Honorary awards:

Directors’ Special Achievement Award

Kevin Macmichael

Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award

Lynn Horne

Industry Builder Award

Louis Thomas

Musicians’ Achievement Award

Geoff Arsenault

Stompin’ Tom Awards

James McQuaid (MCJ) and Richard Gray (Cool G) (N.S.)
Jon Rehder (P.E.I.)
Liz Solo (N.L.)
Gordie Tufts (N.B.)
Winston “Scotty” Fitzgerald (CB)

More to explore:

First Play: the Once, Time Enough

Jenn Grant: a track-by-track guide to Paradise

First Play Live: Bill and Joel Plaskett, Solidarity

First Play Live: Port Cities