Chargement en cours

An error has occurred. Please

Indigenous Music Awards: all the winners from the 2018 ceremony

Editorial Staff

The 2018 Indigenous Music Awards have officially wrapped up, with the winners being announced on May 18 at a star-studded ceremony in Winnipeg hosted by Beatrice Deer and CBC Reclaimed host Jarrett Martineau.

Find out who won the awards for best folk album, best instrumental album, best pop album, best new artist and more in the complete list below. Winners are bolded in each list of nominees.

Best blues album

Billy Joe Green, Born to Lose
Malcolm Campbell, Interstate Blues
Winner: Robert "Freightrain" Parker, Freightrain Live
The Trade-Offs, Qaumariaq
Tracy Lee Nelson, Blues Loving Man

Best country album

Carolina East, Carolina East
Winner: Desiree Dorion, Tough Street
Kelly Derrickson, I Am
Richard Farrow, God Willing
Tom Dutiaume, Out of the Shadows

Best electronic music album

Dakhká Khwáan Dancers and DJ Dash, Deconstruct/Reconstruct
hp shivcraft, No Love, Just Death
Winner: Once a Tree, Phoenix
Tchutchu, Battles

Best folk album

Ansley Simpson, Breakwall
Winner: Buffy Sainte-Marie, Medicine Songs
Keith Secola, Circle
Troy Kokol, Lonely Ghost
Twin Flames, Signal Fire

Related: 10 things you need to know about the 2018 Indigenous Music Awards

Best gospel album

Winner: Callie Bennett, Awake Arise Shine
Carl Crane, God Can
Elvis Ballantyne, Victory Road

Best hand drum album

Cree Agent, Another Summer
Darryl Buck, Hope
Randy Wood, Family
Winner: Young Spirit, Mewasinsational: Cree Round Dance Songs

Best Inuit, Indigenous language or francophone album

Dena Zagi, Gucho Hin
Innutin, Tanite mak au
Northern Haze, Sinnaktuq
Sakay Ottawa, Ni wi witen
Winner: Shauit, Apu peikussiaku

Best instrumental album

Chamakese & Gladue, The Flute Player & the Singer
Winner: Jan Michael Looking Wolf, Flute Medicine
Melody McKiver, Reckoning
Red Sky Performance, Miigis
Steven Rushingwind, Rushingwind

Related: Meet Melody McKiver, the Anishanaabe musician changing the way we think about the viola

Best pop album

Celeigh Cardinal, Everything and Nothing at All
Fara Palmer, SongBird
Winner: Indian City, Here & Now
Kelly Fraser, Sedna
Quantum Tangle, Shelter as we Go

Best powwow contemporary album

Winner: Black Bear Singers, Notcimik
Blackstone, Dance for our Ancestors
Young Spirit, Sâkītohk, 'Love Each Other': Powwow Songs Recorded Live at Apache Gold

Best powwow traditional album

Little Creek Singers, For our Future Generations
Moosetown Singers, Pe Pasiko/When we Sing, Live
Winner: Northern Cree, Mîyo kekisepa, Make a Stand
Sweetgrass Singers, Indian Summer
Wildhorse Singers, Saddle-up Hup Hup Hup!

Best rap/hip-hop album

Chase Manhattan, On Top of the Totem
Lil Mike & FunnyBone, Beat of the Drum
Snotty Nose Rez Kids, The Average Savage
Stenjoddi, The 7th Generation Prophecy
Winner: Supaman, Illuminatives

Best rock album

Broken Walls, The Path
Jay Gilday, Faster Than Light
Kristi Lane Sinclair, The Ability to Judge Distance
Nadjiwan, Superposition
Winner: Relic Kings, Armoury

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Pat Vegas

Best new artist

Winner: Ansley Simpson, Breakwall
Liv Wade, Resilience
Raye Zaragoza, Fight for You
SouFy, The Ogitchidaa Project
Yellowsky, Mixed Medecine

Best radio single

Winner: Carsen Gray feat. DJ Shub, "Wanna See You"
Mariame, "Electric"
Midnight Shine, "In the Midst"
Mob Bounce, "Vision Quest"
Riit, "Imiqtaq"

Best music video

Winner: Buffy Sainte-Marie, "The War Racket"
Cody Coyote feat. Vision Quest, "Northern Lights"
Indian City, "Through the Flood"
Jeremy Dutcher, "Honor Song"
Supaman, "Gdly Warriors"

Best producer/engineer

Kristin Delorenzi: Broken Walls, The Path
Vince Fontaine: Indian City, Through the Flood
Keith Secola: Keith Secola, Circle
Jace Martin: Leah Belle, Country Air
Winner: Supaman: Supaman, Illuminatives

Best international Indigenous release

Djuena Tikuna, Tchautchiüãne
Gean Ramos, Inversões
Membda, Hin to'o ngu nuga
Mission Songs Project, The Songs Back Home
Winner: The Imbayakunas, New Ground

Best radio station program promoting Indigenous music

Unreserved (Rosanna Deerchild, host), CBC Radio
Indigenous Hour (Deya Miller, host), Jukasa Radio
Indigenous in Music (Larry K, host), NV1
Winner: Indigenous Music Countdown, NCI FM
Reclaimed (Jarrett Martineau, host), CBC Music

More to explore:

Listen to every episode of Reclaimed on CBC Music

Buffy Sainte-Marie: 75 things you need to know about the Canadian icon

From best Pop to best Contemporary Powwow and every genre in between. These are the nominees for the 2018 Indigenous Music Awards.

Hear Buffy Sainte-Marie, Midnight Shine, Billy Joe Green, Snotty Nose Rez Kids and more!