Chargement en cours

An error has occurred. Please

Here are the 4 art song finalists at the 2018 Montreal International Music Competition

Robert Rowat

On Friday evening, June 1, Zarin Mehta, president of the jury, announced the names of the four singers advancing to the art song final of the 2018 Montreal International Music Competition.

In alphabetical order, here they are, listed with their collaborative pianists:

  • John Brancy, baritone (29, United States) and Peter Dugan, pianist (29, United States)
  • Clara Osowski, mezzo-soprano (32, United States) and Olivier Godin, pianist (not competing)
  • Gemma Summerfield, soprano (27, United Kingdom) and Sebastian Wybrew, pianist (34, United Kingdom)
  • Julien Van Mellaerts, baritone (30, New Zealand/United Kingdom) and João Araújo, pianist (33, Portugal)

The four art song finalists were chosen from a field of eight, following a semifinal round of 20- to 25-minute recitals that took place at Bourgie Hall in downtown Montreal. The finalists will give a 30- to 35-minute recital on Sunday, June 3, beginning at 3 p.m. ET, to vie for the following prizes:

First Prize:
$30,000 Léopold Simoneau Prize, offered by the John R. Stratton Trust
+ $50,000 James Norcop Career Development Grant

Second Prize:
$15,000 Maureen Forrester Prize, offered by Colleen Sexsmith

Third Prize:
$10,000 Lois Marshall Prize, offered in memory of Dr. Clive Mortimer

John Newmark Best Collaborative Pianist Award:
$10,000 offered by Richard Lupien

French Mélodie Award:
$5,000 offered by Diane Loeb

German Lied Award:
$5,000 offered by Arija and Clarence Stiver

50e OFQJ Award:
$5,000 offered by the Office Franco-Québécois de la Jeunesse

Best Canadian Artist Award:
$3,000 offered by the Bourbeau Foundation

Radio-Canada People’s Choice Award:

CMIM Grant for the unranked finalist:
$2,000 offered by Peter Symcox

The finalists in the competition's other category (aria) will be announced Tuesday, June 5, following the semifinal performances.

The four art song semifinalists were chosen by a jury comprising Edith Bers (United States), Ben Heppner (Canada), Soile Isokoski (Finland), Warren Jones (United States), François Le Roux (France), Felicity Lott (United Kingdom), Richard Rodzinski (United States), Joseph Rouleau (Canada), Kiri Te Kanawa (New Zealand) and Zarin Mehta (jury president).

All performances at the 2018 Montreal International Music Competition are webcast and the performances are archived on the competition's YouTube page. Join CBC Music's "phantom jury" for lively online discussion about the competition on Twitter via #CMIM2018.

More to explore:

Watch the 2018 Montreal International Music Competition

Meet our 'phantom jurors' for the 2018 Montreal International Music Competition