Chargement en cours

An error has occurred. Please

Here are the 6 aria finalists at the Montreal International Music Competition

Robert Rowat

On Tuesday evening, June 5, Zarin Mehta, president of the jury, announced the names of the six singers advancing to the aria final of the 2018 Montreal International Music Competition.

In alphabetical order, they are:

Mario Bahg, tenor (27, South Korea)
John Brancy, baritone (29, United States)
Emily D'Angelo, mezzo-soprano (23, Canada/Italy)
Mikhail Golovushkin, bass (35, Russia)
Andrew Haji, tenor (32, Canada)
Konstantin Lee, tenor (29, South Korea)

The six aria finalists were chosen from a field of 12, following a semifinal round of performances with the Montreal Symphony Orchestra that took place at La Maison symphonique in downtown Montreal. The conductor was Graeme Jenkins.

The six finalists will each give a 14- to 18-minute performance with Jenkins and the Montreal Symphony Orchestra on Thursday, June 7, beginning at 7:30 p.m. ET, to vie for the following prizes:

First Prize:
$30,000 offered by the Ville de Montréal
+ $50,000 Joseph Rouleau Career Development Grant, funded by the Azrieli Foundation

Second Prize:
$15,000 Pierre Péladeau and Raymonde Chopin Prize, offered by Québecor

Third Prize:
$10,000 offered by Stingray Classica

Opera Aria Award:
$5,000 offered by Opéra de Montréal

Oratorio Award:
$5,000 offered by Aéroports de Montréal

Radio-Canada People’s Choice Award:

Best Canadian Artist Award:
$3,000 offered by the Bourbeau Foundation

Three CMIM grants for the unranked finalists ($2,000 each) offered by Maurice Deschamps, Hélène & Peter Hunt, and Joseph Rouleau

The prize winners in both of the competition's categories (art song and aria) will be announced following the performances on June 7.

The six aria finalists were chosen by a jury comprising Edith Bers (United States), Ben Heppner (Canada), Soile Isokoski (Finland), Warren Jones (United States), François Le Roux (France), Felicity Lott (United Kingdom), Richard Rodzinski (United States), Joseph Rouleau (Canada), Kiri Te Kanawa (New Zealand) and Zarin Mehta (jury president).

All performances at the 2018 Montreal International Music Competition are webcast and the performances are archived on the competition's YouTube page. Join CBC Music's "phantom jury" for lively online discussion about the competition on Twitter via #CMIM2018.

More to explore:

Watch the 2018 Montreal International Music Competition

Meet our 'phantom jurors' for the 2018 Montreal International Music Competition